Maryland State Government and Elected Officials

An Introduction to Maryland State Government

Information and links to Maryland elected officials can be found here:

Maryland Government

Maryland General Assembly

Governor of Maryland


Maryland Executive Branch

The Executive branch implements and enforces Maryland's laws and provides executive direction to government. Its chief officer is the Governor. Maryland's Consitution gives the Governor broad powers to organize and run state government and requires the Governor to submit each year to the General Assembly a balanced budget for state proceedings.

The current Governor of Maryland, Larry Hogan, was elected in November 2014. Maryland's Lt. Governor is Boyd Rutherford.

The Maryland General Assembly

The Maryland General Assembly has served nearly continuously from Maryland's founding in 1634. For over 370 years, the Maryland General Assembly has consisted of citizen legislators – part-time elected officials who live and work in their communities.

Marylanders are typically represented by four legislators in the General Assembly – three members of the House of Delegates and one state Senator. The General Assembly makes laws for the state, may levy taxes, and may reduce or restrict the budget proposed each year by the Governor. You are invited to get to know your legislators by reading about them, calling, emailing, or visiting their offices to introduce yourself.

General Assembly Facts

  • 188 members
  • 47 Senators
  • 141 Delegates
  • Maryland is divided into 47 legislative districts
  • About 2,500 - 3,000 pieces of legislation are introduced each year - only about 25% pass
  • 90-day session, mid-January through mid-April
  • Much of the work of the General Assembly takes place in committees, which are organized by policy areas (see committees below)

Senate committees

  • Budget and Taxation
  • Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs
  • Finance
  • Judicial Proceedings

House of Delegate committees

  • Appropriations
  • Economic Matters
  • Environmental Matters
  • Health and Government Operations
  • Judiciary
  • Ways and Means

The presiding officer appoints each legislator to one of these committees.